Pre Amp
     EC4.8
    Power Amp
     EC AW180
    Headphones
     HD600
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No

Power amp input sensitivity - please explain!

Can someone please explain what the figures quoted for power amp input sensitivity mean and in particular how they relate to other components in a system. For example, I've been considering buying a new power amp for some time, but don't know how to match input sensitivity to my system. My current power amp (Quad 909) has an rca input sens. of 775mV and the balanced quadlink input is rated at 2Vrms. I use two sources, a SACD player and a DAC, which have analogue output levels of 2Vrms and 4.2Vrms respectively. My preamp is the Music First Magnetic transformer passive.

Now, to my non-technical mind (and I am not an engineer) this means that if I play the DAC and set the preamp volume knob about half way, the pre amp should send a signal of about 2Vrms to the power amp, assuming that the position of the volume knob corresponds roughly to the amount of signal attenuation (I can hear you say 'what an idiot!'). The Music First is connected to the Quad via its rca inputs, so I assume that with this volume setting the 909 receives a signal of 2Vrms from the DAC and 1Vrms from the SACD, both of which are higher than the Quad's rca input sensitivity.

Is this a problem? I ask because most of the power amps I've considered have input sensitivites of between 1 and 2Vrms. Any advice on how this works will be appreciated as I don't want to buy a power amp that doesn't match my system.

Many thanks

The Wiz

Too much time on my hands SergeAuckland's Avatar
    Real Name
     Serge
    Turn Table
     EMT948, TRS9000, 401
    T/Arm & Cart
     AT33ML, TSD15, MC-15
    Digital Source 1
     SBT
    Digital Source 2
     Meridian 206
    DAC
     DEQ & CDQ
    Speakers
     Active B&W 801F
    Pre Amp
     Meridian 501
    Power Amp
     3 x Behringer A500
    Headphones
     AKG K270 KOSS Pro4AA
    In the Hi-Fi industry?