Audio Emotion Purite North  Epiphany Acoustics 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28
  1. #1
    Veteran Wammer icehockeyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
     Aug 2005
    Posts
     5,621
    Location
     Nottingham, United K
    Real Name
     Craig
    Turn Table
     Ion USB :)
    Digital Source 1
     SB Touch & Theta dac
    Integrated Amp
     Lyngdorf SDAi 2175
    Speakers
     Quad 22L2
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No

    Wi Fi Help Needed

    At the risk of the arseholes circling, I will ask this question...........No matter what I do to get the Sony BDP S 760 to connect to my router, it won't, despite doing everything the manual, and on screen instructions tell me to do.

    I firstly tried the method where by pressing the WPS button on the router, it gives you 2 minutes to start the process, did that, and router says it is connected, and the process was sucessful, except the Sony says, " Unknown Error" try again. It gets to stage 2 of 3, says it is exchanging info with the router, but then says the error message.

    So I try the other way, and the on screen display shows everything to do with the router, (in my mind telling me it's found it successfully) but it still won't connect .

    Help please!
    Last edited by icehockeyboy; 06-11-2010 at 11:19 AM.

  2. #2
    Contains mild peril browellm's Avatar
    Join Date
     Sep 2008
    Posts
     20,613
    Location
     Nottingham
    Real Name
     Mark
    Turn Table
     Acoustic Solid Wood
    T/Arm & Cart
     AN Arm III/Io Gold
    SUT/Phono
     Allnic H1500
    Digital Source 1
     Modwright TP
    Speakers
     Avantgarde Uno Nano
    Pre Amp
     Kondo M7
    Power Amp
     LV Argento
    Headphones
     
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Kondo mafia
    http://www.last.fm/user/browellm

    <----------Report this post here

  3. #3
    Veteran Wammer icehockeyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
     Aug 2005
    Posts
     5,621
    Location
     Nottingham, United K
    Real Name
     Craig
    Turn Table
     Ion USB :)
    Digital Source 1
     SB Touch & Theta dac
    Integrated Amp
     Lyngdorf SDAi 2175
    Speakers
     Quad 22L2
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Quote Originally Posted by browellm View Post
    Aw come on Mark, you can help here surely?

    I added about how the Sony is exchanging info, so how can I be doing it wrong?

  4. #4
    Contains mild peril browellm's Avatar
    Join Date
     Sep 2008
    Posts
     20,613
    Location
     Nottingham
    Real Name
     Mark
    Turn Table
     Acoustic Solid Wood
    T/Arm & Cart
     AN Arm III/Io Gold
    SUT/Phono
     Allnic H1500
    Digital Source 1
     Modwright TP
    Speakers
     Avantgarde Uno Nano
    Pre Amp
     Kondo M7
    Power Amp
     LV Argento
    Headphones
     
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    I am helping.

    Kondo mafia
    http://www.last.fm/user/browellm

    <----------Report this post here

  5. #5
    Veteran Wammer icehockeyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
     Aug 2005
    Posts
     5,621
    Location
     Nottingham, United K
    Real Name
     Craig
    Turn Table
     Ion USB :)
    Digital Source 1
     SB Touch & Theta dac
    Integrated Amp
     Lyngdorf SDAi 2175
    Speakers
     Quad 22L2
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Everything appears to be going as it should, done the press the button within 2 minutes at both ends..... it starts to communicate with the router....and then Unknown Error comes up.

    Mark, I know you think it is user error, but my geeky mate can't even get past this stage.

  6. #6
    Contains mild peril browellm's Avatar
    Join Date
     Sep 2008
    Posts
     20,613
    Location
     Nottingham
    Real Name
     Mark
    Turn Table
     Acoustic Solid Wood
    T/Arm & Cart
     AN Arm III/Io Gold
    SUT/Phono
     Allnic H1500
    Digital Source 1
     Modwright TP
    Speakers
     Avantgarde Uno Nano
    Pre Amp
     Kondo M7
    Power Amp
     LV Argento
    Headphones
     
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    I've never had a lot of success with those one-touch wifi set up utilities, and it's possible the Sony doesn't support it. I always prefer to put the WPA passcode in manually.
    Kondo mafia
    http://www.last.fm/user/browellm

    <----------Report this post here

  7. #7
    Veteran Wammer icehockeyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
     Aug 2005
    Posts
     5,621
    Location
     Nottingham, United K
    Real Name
     Craig
    Turn Table
     Ion USB :)
    Digital Source 1
     SB Touch & Theta dac
    Integrated Amp
     Lyngdorf SDAi 2175
    Speakers
     Quad 22L2
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Thanks Mark, apparently the Sony does................. Is it significant the Sony has the WLAN shining brightly on it's display?

    PS, Mods, surely as the question is about a Blu Ray player, should it not be in the place I originally posted it?

    Can't help thinking less people look in the pc mp3 section................
    Last edited by icehockeyboy; 06-11-2010 at 01:29 PM.

  8. #8
    Hi-fi/Pie-Fi Strider's Avatar
    Join Date
     Jan 2006
    Posts
     3,223
    Location
     somewhere or other
    Real Name
     Mark
    Digital Source 1
     SB3 coax out
    Digital Source 2
     CA 840C
    DAC
     Audiolab M-DAC
    Integrated Amp
     Primare I30
    Speakers
     Proac 140 mkll
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Hi Craig, It might be that the Sony is latched onto a wifi signal but it might not be yours! I hate to say it but it but you might have to resort to manually setting up the SSID and encryoption. I see this everyday with wifi and DHCP or WPS/auto discovery settings.
    SOME PEOPLE ARE LIKE SLINKIES. THEY'RE NOT REALLY GOOD FOR ANYTHING BUT THEY BRING A SMILE TO YOUR FACE WHEN YOU PUSH THEM DOWN THE STAIRS...

  9. #9
    Veteran Wammer icehockeyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
     Aug 2005
    Posts
     5,621
    Location
     Nottingham, United K
    Real Name
     Craig
    Turn Table
     Ion USB :)
    Digital Source 1
     SB Touch & Theta dac
    Integrated Amp
     Lyngdorf SDAi 2175
    Speakers
     Quad 22L2
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Quote Originally Posted by Strider View Post
    Hi Craig, It might be that the Sony is latched onto a wifi signal but it might not be yours! I hate to say it but it but you might have to resort to manually setting up the SSID and encryoption. I see this everyday with wifi and DHCP or WPS/auto discovery settings.
    Hi Mark, I am 99% certain it is latched onto mine, as I added a "guest" onto the router, and that is showing too..............

  10. #10
    Moderator meninblack's Avatar
    Join Date
     Jul 2005
    Posts
     20,916
    Location
     Erehwon
    Real Name
     Mr Pink-and-Yellow
    Turn Table
     Palmer 3.0
    T/Arm & Cart
     AN Arm 3/II & Io1
    SUT/Phono
     Kondo KSL-SFz
    Digital Source 1
     dCS P8i
    Digital Source 2
     SB3
    DAC
     AN DAC 2.1x/II Bal.
    Speakers
     Tannoy Kensington SE
    Pre Amp
     Audio Note M5 Phono
    Power Amp
     Air Tight ATM-1
    Headphones
     
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Seriously, don't bother.

    There are only 3 reasons to connect a Blu-Ray player to the network:

    1. Firmware updates - it's both easier and safer to download these to a memory stick using your PC and install them from the stick
    2. To use the player as a DLNA client - the Sony only supports DLNA for jpeg, so again a memory stick is just as easy
    3. To access BD-Live - so far, BD-Live is only used to force you to watch pointless trailers. Half the time it fails, and your Blu-Ray disc stalls and won't play. On my player this feature is set to OFF.

    So, not worth the hassle. But I know you'll ignore this advice and do it anyway, so over and out.

  11. #11
    Veteran Wammer icehockeyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
     Aug 2005
    Posts
     5,621
    Location
     Nottingham, United K
    Real Name
     Craig
    Turn Table
     Ion USB :)
    Digital Source 1
     SB Touch & Theta dac
    Integrated Amp
     Lyngdorf SDAi 2175
    Speakers
     Quad 22L2
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Quote Originally Posted by meninblack View Post
    Seriously, don't bother.

    There are only 3 reasons to connect a Blu-Ray player to the network:

    1. Firmware updates - it's both easier and safer to download these to a memory stick using your PC and install them from the stick
    2. To use the player as a DLNA client - the Sony only supports DLNA for jpeg, so again a memory stick is just as easy
    3. To access BD-Live - so far, BD-Live is only used to force you to watch pointless trailers. Half the time it fails, and your Blu-Ray disc stalls and won't play. On my player this feature is set to OFF.

    So, not worth the hassle. But I know you'll ignore this advice and do it anyway, so over and out.
    I want to take on board your opinion, I really do, but it appears there is not a lot of difference (if any) of this machines picture quality, and the one I am selling a Sony 550, so, taking away the 760's wifi feature, leaves me basically with a 550, and 100 less in my bank account.
    See what I mean?

  12. #12
    Moderator meninblack's Avatar
    Join Date
     Jul 2005
    Posts
     20,916
    Location
     Erehwon
    Real Name
     Mr Pink-and-Yellow
    Turn Table
     Palmer 3.0
    T/Arm & Cart
     AN Arm 3/II & Io1
    SUT/Phono
     Kondo KSL-SFz
    Digital Source 1
     dCS P8i
    Digital Source 2
     SB3
    DAC
     AN DAC 2.1x/II Bal.
    Speakers
     Tannoy Kensington SE
    Pre Amp
     Audio Note M5 Phono
    Power Amp
     Air Tight ATM-1
    Headphones
     
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Why did you buy a blu-ray player for wi-fi? What are you trying to achieve with this feature? It's a disc player. If it supported streaming audio or video then maybe - I use my Oppo for this and it's very good. But the Sony doesn't.

  13. #13
    Moderator dom_'s Avatar
    Join Date
     Sep 2007
    Posts
     4,711
    Location
     Lindfield
    Turn Table
     Garrad 401
    Integrated Amp
     Modwright KWI200
    Speakers
     Snell Type A
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Wifi is a pain in the tit.
    Plus it is hard to help without getting seriously involved and about 400 posts. Get a PC guy in, one of the ones who advertises in a newsagents or local paper. Can't imagine it would take them long or cost much.

  14. #14
    Wammer RichardG's Avatar
    Join Date
     Aug 2005
    Posts
     2,128
    Location
     Cardiff, , United Ki
    Turn Table
     Clearaudio Ambient
    T/Arm & Cart
     Satisy/Ort MC5000
    SUT/Phono
     LFD MC1
    Digital Source 1
     Pathos Endorphin
    Digital Source 2
     SBT
    DAC
     Sony QS Minidisc
    Integrated Amp
     Pathos Logos
    Speakers
     Zu Omen Def
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    OK, I got my 760 talking to my router within 10 mins and I'm a numpty. I let the player select everything except the password which I input manually from the remote.

    As MiB says, the ONLY reason for doing it is to update the firmware and using the internet and burning an image CD is very straightforward for that. I should know as that's how I updated the firmware on my 550 player.

    The wifi connectivity for the 760 is pretty limited (photos only?) so surely you can live without that? After updating the 760's firmware I went into the factory reset menu and erased the network connection settings so the WLAN light was no longer lit - would be distracting when watching films!!!!

    Good luck!
    Would you come to me, if I was half drowning
    An arm above the last wave...

  15. #15
    Wammer RichardG's Avatar
    Join Date
     Aug 2005
    Posts
     2,128
    Location
     Cardiff, , United Ki
    Turn Table
     Clearaudio Ambient
    T/Arm & Cart
     Satisy/Ort MC5000
    SUT/Phono
     LFD MC1
    Digital Source 1
     Pathos Endorphin
    Digital Source 2
     SBT
    DAC
     Sony QS Minidisc
    Integrated Amp
     Pathos Logos
    Speakers
     Zu Omen Def
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Quote Originally Posted by dom_ View Post
    Wifi is a pain in the tit.
    Plus it is hard to help without getting seriously involved and about 400 posts. Get a PC guy in, one of the ones who advertises in a newsagents or local paper. Can't imagine it would take them long or cost much.

    That's what I did, I didn't / don't have a clue about this kind of stuff - cost me 90 incl 45 for a router - he did all the file sharing etc. Told him what I wanted and he did it. 45 of his time for an hour was well worth it - I'd still be faffing.
    Would you come to me, if I was half drowning
    An arm above the last wave...

  16. #16
    Veteran Wammer icehockeyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
     Aug 2005
    Posts
     5,621
    Location
     Nottingham, United K
    Real Name
     Craig
    Turn Table
     Ion USB :)
    Digital Source 1
     SB Touch & Theta dac
    Integrated Amp
     Lyngdorf SDAi 2175
    Speakers
     Quad 22L2
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Quote Originally Posted by RichardG View Post
    OK, I got my 760 talking to my router within 10 mins and I'm a numpty. I let the player select everything except the password which I input manually from the remote.

    As MiB says, the ONLY reason for doing it is to update the firmware and using the internet and burning an image CD is very straightforward for that. I should know as that's how I updated the firmware on my 550 player.


    The wifi connectivity for the 760 is pretty limited (photos only?) so surely you can live without that? After updating the 760's firmware I went into the factory reset menu and erased the network connection settings so the WLAN light was no longer lit - would be distracting when watching films!!!!

    Good luck!

    Which, as I said before basically makes it a 550......and I have one of those already................

  17. #17
    Moderator meninblack's Avatar
    Join Date
     Jul 2005
    Posts
     20,916
    Location
     Erehwon
    Real Name
     Mr Pink-and-Yellow
    Turn Table
     Palmer 3.0
    T/Arm & Cart
     AN Arm 3/II & Io1
    SUT/Phono
     Kondo KSL-SFz
    Digital Source 1
     dCS P8i
    Digital Source 2
     SB3
    DAC
     AN DAC 2.1x/II Bal.
    Speakers
     Tannoy Kensington SE
    Pre Amp
     Audio Note M5 Phono
    Power Amp
     Air Tight ATM-1
    Headphones
     
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    So what do you think the benefit will be if you get the wi-fi to work?
    Do you think it will be worth 100?


  18. #18
    Veteran Wammer icehockeyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
     Aug 2005
    Posts
     5,621
    Location
     Nottingham, United K
    Real Name
     Craig
    Turn Table
     Ion USB :)
    Digital Source 1
     SB Touch & Theta dac
    Integrated Amp
     Lyngdorf SDAi 2175
    Speakers
     Quad 22L2
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Quote Originally Posted by meninblack View Post
    So what do you think the benefit will be if you get the wi-fi to work?
    Do you think it will be worth 100?

    Dunno.....and looking like no for the second question..............?(

  19. #19
    Wammer
    Join Date
     Jul 2006
    Posts
     13,754
    Location
     Derbyshire
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Just flog it and keep the other one, "if it aint broke..." and all that
    Shoe bombers! Increase your payload by becoming a clown.

  20. #20
    Wammer Sir_Franc's Avatar
    Join Date
     Nov 2005
    Posts
     3,735
    Location
     Sussex
    Real Name
     Rick
    Digital Source 1
     Laptop
    DAC
     Naim Ndac & XPS2
    Integrated Amp
     Accuphase E308
    Speakers
     Peak Consult
    Pre Amp
     Music First Silver
    Power Amp
     Art Audio
    Headphones
     
    In the Hi-Fi industry?
     No
    Try connecting to your router via a Ethernet patch lead to perform any software updates. From what others have said, that's the only reason you'll need internet access.
    Karma means I can rest easy at night knowing all the people I treated badly had it coming.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •