Not quite sure whats going on here as there are some interesting listings here , audio research ref 600 , krell monos and whats with the prices ?
Would be interesting to get your comments.
Not quite sure whats going on here as there are some interesting listings here , audio research ref 600 , krell monos and whats with the prices ?
Would be interesting to get your comments.
If you are interested, contact the seller, arrange to go in person to view and audition the equipment (maybe with a large friend), don't pay any money until you are convinced that it is a genuine sale and the equipment is physically in your possession. If it is a 'business' you might be able to pay by credit card, which will give you more protection.
If the seller suggests payment ahead of such an arrangement to view, wants to send kit of this value to you without audition, wants use of money orders etc., does not demonstrate the equipment at a private address that they can prove beyond reasonable doubt is their normal abode, then run a mile.
Simple really - they could be real sales at what you regard as reasonable prices. They could well be a scam. Eyes open job.
![]()
My Father had a profound influence on me, he was a lunatic. (Milligan)
Dodgy![]()
I'm so sick of pornography. Every time I see it I shake my fist at it.
Golden rule my Dad taught me; if somethings too good to be true, it's not true![]()
Craigs list, avoid, nearly always a scam. You'll find if you try to pick them up, they are in London or Belfast.
I really don't know why you have to go up there. I have 2 x YG Anat 2 Ref for £1800 brand newish, 24 WE 300b NOS valves £20 each collection only, boxes a bit tatty, and a couple of significant deceased persons estates to dispose of, 10% face value. In London. Just email me your credit card details &c, sincerely
Kofi Anan, or summat like that...
Or a cheque made out to C Ash.....![]()
Last edited by rmsshipbroker; 04-04-2012 at 10:27 PM.
Nothing in fine print is ever good news
Whenever I've contacted anyone about expensive hifi on Craig's List or Gumtree (some gumtree stuff is ok) they've originally said they were in London and then when I ask where they are, suddenly they've jumped to Shetlands or John O'Groats... Same story every time.
Scams scams scams.. occasionally you then see the same photos turn up later as they move the scam to ebay, same photos year after year - must have seen that Denon DP1000 about 5 times over the last 5 years.
These are now routinely offered for sale again, down the road from me. Whodda thunk it'd be so hard to find a buyer ?
Says what you need to know about these sites, that the ad will be back in a couple of months (or less)
http://www.gumtree.com/p/for-sale/ta...itors/99563639
The devil in the detail is.
Gumtree is wonderful for hi end stuff at half it's true second hand value located in the Scottish islands that's never available for collection.
I traced a wilson Benesch torus to be a dealer in NYC as it used the same photos as craiglist glasgow on their own website , I have since managed to have it removed.
I did send several emails to the listing advising I wanted to have a look hence no reply . I JUST DONT UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY ARE UP TO AND WHY CRAIGLIST GLASGOW ?
I think it's because buyers from Glasgow are more likely to want delivery
[QUOTE=goldmund;1238931]I traced a wilson Benesch torus to be a dealer in NYC as it used the same photos as craiglist glasgow on their own website , I have since managed to have it removed.
I did send several emails to the listing advising I wanted to have a look hence no reply . I JUST DONT UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY ARE UP TO AND WHY CRAIGLIST GLASGOW ?[/QUOTE]
coz they still hate the english?![]()
![]()