measurement of Kef 104/2

edavey

Wammer
Wammer
Jul 12, 2010
I'm posting some room measurements of my 'new' Kef 104/2 speakers, recently aquired from 'Spider'.  Unfortunately the previous thread in 'classified' has been archived so I'm now starting a new thread to discuss their measurement and performance in my room.

It took me a while to get hold of a mic, but I've been now been able to borrow a calibrated miniDSP measurement mic and have done some measurements using the REW software package. The first three are waterfall charts of the 104/2:

a) without the Kube
b) with the Kube 
c) with the Kube, with 'extend' on

and then there's a similar chart of my previous speakers (B&W DM2a) which I perceived as less boomy.

I'm a novice at room measurement and I haven't had time to read the REW notes properly so here goes my attempt to interpret the above:

1) the Kube gives the 104/2 a flatter bass response
2) the Kube with the 'extend' gives an even flatter bass response
3) the 104/2 has a significant hump around 60Hz
4) the 35-75Hz range has a much slower decay rate than the other frequencies
5) the slow decay rate of the 35-75Hz range increases as the bass response is flattened by the Kube. i.e. is worse in [2] and worse again in [3]
6) the 'old' B&W DM2a speakers don't have the low bass, have a similar bass hump around 60Hz but the decay is faster.

Is what I'm describing what's referred to as a 'room mode'?

I'd be very grateful for your comments. 

Thanks

Ed

1_no_kube.png

4_b_and_w_dm2a.png

2_kube_flat.png

3_kube_extend_on.png

SergeAuckland

Certified Measurist
Wammer
May 6, 2008
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
I find those waterfall plots rather harder to interpret . I'm much better with a straight SPL plot, with third octave smoothing. Third octave approximates to the way we hear, so also stacks up better with what we hear the loudspeakers  sound like.