Michael
Wammer Plus
Oct 9, 2018
Point Roberts, WA, USA (Vancouver)
AKA
Michael
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
It was the bit afterwards "It factors in the effect of the speakers to the correction made" that concerns me, although it could just be down to grammar.  I read it as the speakers having an effect on the correction that has been made, which would not be correct.  Did you intend to mean that the correction calculations take into effect a limited number of characteristics of the speakers? If so, then that would be correct.
I am not an expert. I do have more confidence in my grammar skills than my SO skills. So any correction from those more knowledgeable is very welcome. You may also correct my grammar.

I have been trying to wrap my brain around how this works. The only thing I can figure is something like if bass needs to be reduced at a certain frequency, then SO+ knowing the characteristics of a certain driver, can more accurately make that correction. Of course this is just what I've come up. I thought my assertion was general enough to be accepted and the conversation could move forward.

Last edited by a moderator:

Pennypacker

d^_^b
Wammer
Oct 10, 2018
Netherlands
HiFi Trade?
  1. Yes
  2. No
As far as I understand SO, the listing position is needed to calculate where the mode is perceived or not. The soundwaves are send from the speakers, that’s the position from where the wave roles out and it is from this point where the distance or better the length of the wave is calculated from, since it’s there where it originates. 

If for instance a wavelength reflects from the wall behind the listing position before it’s halfway it’s (sinus) length it returns on itself and causes a mode. If you are unlucky the mode peaks at your listening position. If you move your listening position further away or closer the reflective wall you can “miss” the mode. The mode is in a certain spot not throughout the room, maybe some in a really small room.