A tale of two carts OC-9 MLii vs OC-9 iii

graham67

Wammer
Wammer
May 19, 2010
I was fortunate to recently obtain on the WAM an OC9/iii with a handful of hours.   I have been using the OC9/MLii for many years (onto my third now) and I have built my phono section around getting a good performance  out of this cart which has proved at times tricky to get the balance right. As.mentioned in a recent post it can sound anything from warm and slightly lazy to overly lean and bright. But get it right and it rewards with a big soundstage, great rhythm and forensic timing.  ​

My front end comprises a 401 and Audio Note Arm Three.  The phono section comprises a Phonomac modded Denon HA 500 and a heavily modded Puresound P10 which sounds hugely better than the stock item. In conjunction with vintage JBL 12" monitors the system has a very strong bass, great dynamics but a slightly rolled off treble.  IMO, this combo complements the less than generous bass and slightly rising treble of the OC9/MLii, providing amazing speed and infectious rhythm on upbeat numbers. 

However there is a cost which was nicely summed up by Jack non smoking man who has heard my system several times as  lacking romance and I get what he means.  The OC9/MLii doesnt linger on a note, it's all about the leading edge and getting to the next note which gives that rapid fire bass on kick drums for example.  As my system is heavily geared around the AT sound, I am reluctant to make a big change as I have had many carts in the past which have not given me what I need and I really enjoy the sound I get. So the MLii seemed a low risk purchase and having directly compared the MLii to the Art9 which uses the same line contact stylus so I had an idea of the sound it would provide.