Wammer
Aug 12, 2018
Grimsby/Phnom Penh
AKA
David
HiFi Trade?
  1. Yes
  2. No
I am using a 'cheap Chinese valve intergrated' RFTLYS A2 KT88 Tube integrated amplifier with headphone amp with Bluetooth input : China-hifi-Audio online store,  and to say I am pleased with it would be an under statement, many might find the headphone out to be worth the price alone.  Since I'm new to valve amps  I have purchased some 12AU7's and 12AX7's/5751's to try out after reading they influence the sound more than the output tubes.  I missed out on a bargain quad of EH KT90's, but what I'd like to know is, how do you determine what power tubes are suitable for use with your amplifier.   I have been told KT90's would be ok, as well as 6550's but what else would work ie 6L6 variants or something else?

Cable Monkey

Staff member
May 16, 2006
Birmingham, UK
AKA
Henry
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
The issue you have is the words ‘might work’. I would stick to finding well regarded versions of KT88’s or their drop in alternatives the 6550 or possibly KT120. The KT120 draws more heater current so that would require confirmation before trying them. I don’t know about the KT90 so couldn’t comment.

• Upvote
Reactions: Hap Hazzard

Psilonaught

Wammer
Wammer
Aug 16, 2007
Saffron Walden
AKA
James
HiFi Trade?
  1. No