• To directly access the forum, ensure your bookmark url includes /forum.

Subjectiveness.....

Geordie

Wammer
Wammer
Jul 19, 2005
Newcastle Upon Tyne,
I was browsing headfi today when I saw a post which made me think, people just hear what they want to hear, and not what things actually sounds like. Its not the first time mind. The post in question this person claimed one component was "darker" than another. They happenned to be two components that I've had extensive experience with on multiple occaisions. His experience was the exact opposite to mine, and yet, I cannot see how he came to his conclusion.

Also, although they are not online now, both of these products had freq. response charts on the internet, and it backed up what I had heard.

So why did this guy say this? He's just plain wrong, IMO. I didnt bother replying to this effect, because 1 it was an old thread and 2 because its not worth the bother. I know that audio is very subjective, but some things are just plain wrong. Its like me trying to persuade someone that the background colour of this forum is black, not white!

Its a bit like the people who try and tell me that MP3 has no bass when I listen to it all the time, and that is clearly not my experience of it at all.

What is it about hifi that makes people hear what they want to hear, and not what is actually coming out of their speakers?

G