HiFi and what it should reflect

NMcGann

Hello folks,

I'm a student writing my dissertation and I'd like the opinion of some avid HiFi fans.

My question to you guys is, 'should the purpose of Hifi be to reflect the quality of studio production, or to try and present the performance of the musician as accurately as possible?'

I understand this may be a very open and vague question, but that's why I'm asking you folks. I'm not too knowledgeable in this area so the opinions and views of people who actually know what they're on about would be REALLY helpful!

Thanks in advance,

NM

Monster question!

Studio production aims generally at a wide range of listening situations, especially in view of the fact that probably the majority of people listen via equipment that is not really 'high fidelity'.

It is frankly impossible to reproduce accurately the actual sound of a live performance. However, probably (possibly) most of us aim to achieve reproduction that at least aims in that direction. Well, I do. Others will doubtless come up with the opposite.

My personal view and others will of course disagree: the purpose of HiFi is neither of the options you suggest. The purpose is to provide enjoyment of music.

This may or may not accurately reflect the original recording. It may be colored, "softened", exaggerated in some areas (such as bass). This is all personal preference and is one of the reasons why so many different types of equipment exist.

There is another purpose, which is to effectively serve as "big boys toys" (I don't mean that as flippantly as it sounds) - it's a hobby. Box swapping, comparisons, DIY projects etc are all part of this.

Hopefully that's a helpful start.

IMO the best hifi, is "invisible".

It adds/takes away as little as possible.

But every layer of technology between the musician & the listener is going to change the sound.

For starters, just ask any singer about their favourite microphone and you'll open a can of worms.