wuzznbuddy

Single ended pre driving balanced power

Does anyone know if there is any disadvantage to using a single-ended RCA output from a pre to drive the XLR balanced inputs of a power amp (a AN P4 balanced, to be exact). The manual for the power amp says it can be connected in this way, but I wondered if I'd be missing out on something if I did this? I've no experience with balanced amps, so am clueless. 

Thanks is advance for any help anyone is able to give. 

Unless the cable length between pre and power amp exceeds 10m, there will be NO benefit whatsoever from balanced operation. Over 10m, there might just possibly, at a push, be a benefit, which holds up to about 100m. Over 100m, I would definitely go balanced. 

S.

Does a balanced input not usually need more volts for full power than a single ended one ( assuming you need the higher output that is)

2 hours ago, wuzznbuddy said:

The manual for the power amp says it can be connected in this way, but I wondered if I'd be missing out on something if I did this? I've no experience with balanced amps, so am clueless. 

You won't be missing out on anything.

Unless the entire system is balanced or the cable runs are far beyond anything normally used in a domestic situation there is no benefit.

33 minutes ago, omsoc said:

Does a balanced input not usually need more volts for full power than a single ended one ( assuming you need the higher output that is)

No, there's no correlation whatsoever between balanced inputs and input sensitivity. They can be whatever you like. Microphone inputs are balanced and very sensitive. It's just a matter of what gain's available.

S

if the entire system is balanced (very rare) there are potential benefits. All of wich can equally be acheived through proper grounding in a single-ended set up in domestic use.

No difference in terms of gain, signal strength, voltage, etc.

Simply the circuit topology.