Spider

DDDAC first build ”frankenDAC”

Ok then, I think I need some help.

To be absolutely clear this is first time I’ve attempted anything like this and I am a complete beginner. So be gentle with me.

I thought it might be fun to collect up DDDAC parts and cobble together a DDDAC. Through a few generous donations and a few very reasonably priced items I’ve collected together enough parts to effectively make two DAC’s. All of the parts are the older boards and that suits fine I’m sure they can be made into very enjoyable DAC’s.

So here’s the plan:  to build two DAC’s

1. Use the standard power supplies with 4 stack main board and wave I/O board. To make what is effectively a standard 4 stack DDDAC with no mods. I would like it to have a spdif input for a cd transport and I guess the I/O board can do this. Can it?

2. Use the uprated power supplies for 12v and standard 5v to run mainboard with clock mod (effectively making it same spec as new blue board) use a single dac board with tentlab upgrades and wave I/O again with spdif input for cd transport. 

I thought it would be interesting to see what the difference between them would be, if there is any. One being standard but using multiple boards and one having a few mods and a single board.

I also plan to build them both into identical wooden boxes and maybe they can both go to Kegworth next year and you guys can have a blind listen and see which you like best.

one of the standard power supplies has a broken part it is clearly seen in pictures, so I guess that needs a new part, any advice on what it is.

but for now a complete beginner has to get them working, any advice where to start and what to do?

B7_A51_F5_C_6041_440_E_A4_D2_54_C93_D0_E
4_DF44006_8_FC0_4734_986_D_14_E6_B51_D2_
70883_B97_D5_A4_47_B1_8166_97_AD9_C08972
BD8_A6_DEA_4_D38_4304_96_CC_C4854_BF8392
5_BE5_F8_AA_25_D2_4_D07_9_FEF_8_D42_C155
2_E80_C551_C1_D0_494_B_A0_C8_AF4_B65_E7_
550594_BF_3555_445_B_A4_D3_286_FC493_E8_