michaelgb

what is it with musicians and hifi

I'm a musician and i like Hifi.  I've heard it said before that most musicians are not that fussed over hifi and in particular the high end stuff. 

Have you found musicians a bit indifferent to hifi gear ? and if so why do you think this is ?

I can only speak for myself so i'll say as an example that my physical Zildjian 22" K ride cymbal sounds way way more interesting to me sonically  than any hifi "sounds" I've yet heard.

Sort of similar  (but different) with a song or piece of music. the song and performance is way more interesting than the reproduction of it via speaker/hifi. 

Edited by michaelgb
so i could appear smarter
  • Like 1

38 minutes ago, michaelgb said:

Have you found musicians a bit indifferent to hifi gear ? and if so why do you think this is ?

I know and have known several musicians.  Male and female. 

I'll attempt to answer this question, but there are several caveats which must be listed:

• I am not a musician myself
  • I've never directly asked them the question you are asking, but it is a good question
  • The musicians I know perform or have performed in public, but they're not exactly Itzhak Perlman, Herb Alpert, or John Eliot Gardiner
  • The musicians I know are not full-time performers.  The closest to full-time musicians I know are performance professors and teachers
  • The musicians I know mostly perform classical or jazz music
  • None are conductors except for one performance professor who does some conducting

So, with that said, here we go:

• I don't think any of these musicians have anything better than what can be described as being 'good department store stuff'.  That is to say fairly mainstream components from the likes of Pioneer, Sony, Technics, Kenwood, JVC, Yamaha, Akai, Polk, JBL, Bose, etc.  Some just have those shelf all-in-one systems.