captain_norbs

2 way with Scan Speak Revelator and Hiquophon

So I've been a box swapper and amateur DIY'er for a while and I've even had a go at running a speaker business ;) This latest project is a take on the Royd Minstrel. It uses the rather extraordinary Hiquophon OW1 tweeter and the equally remarkable Scan Speak Revelator 15W/8530K00 mid-bass driver. This is all going into an enclosure the same proportions as the Royd Minstrel albeit a little deeper than the original. The test cabinets are successful so I'll document progress on the final build here for my own purposes but maybe someone else may take an interest too!

Don't worry that isn't a small body ready to be disposed, just Valchromat panels arriving. All marked up, ready for some additional work and cutting...

PXL_20201030_103058611.jpg

PXL_20201030_103954789.PORTRAIT-01.COVER.jpg

PXL_20201030_104859669.jpg

PXL_20201021_094727051.jpg

• Like 7

Cool project, Adam.  I had a pair of the original Minstrels, my first hifi speakers in fact. Wonderful imaging but a bit bright.  Also, I did my own DIY project with the same mid-bass, so will follow this thread with interest.

• Like 1

Looks good Adam. Which supplier did you use for the Valchromat? I have considered using it in the past, I will be interested to see how you get on.

3 hours ago, Tony_J said:

Looks good Adam. Which supplier did you use for the Valchromat? I have considered using it in the past, I will be interested to see how you get on.

I've used a few and usually get it CNC'd as I'm not really set up for woodworking but this project I wanted to see through to completion. The ones I used for this are Atlantic Timber but SL Hardwoods also supply as do CBJ

• Upvote 1

I've had Valchromat from SL Hardwoods also - they're local to me. They made a good job of the CNC work too.

• Upvote 2

Update for today, getting the back of the cabinets together. I will have to wait for better weather to start work on the baffles.