Dealer configured SO

I've never had a dealer setup SO but I've got scars due to the effort it takes to go through things properly.

I've been wondering for a while if the dealers go through the same amount of effort.

So a couple of questions for people who've had their dealer set things up.

1. How long did it take the dealer to setup SO in your room?
  2. How many of the different absorption parameters did they configure?

I consider myself pretty quick at doing SO, I've done it so many times, when using an existing room it generally takes me just over a day to do a full setup.

curious as to what people's experience is.

My dealer set my SO pretty quickly. About 45 minutes. He used SO v1 rather than 2. He listened to about 4 different tracks that he chose himself and replayed about 10 seconds of each numerous times and tweaked various settings within SO v1. Sounds good to me but I intend to experiment with SO v2 also as I have no knowledge of SO v1. Could I get closer to musical nirvana using SO v2 than a dealer with V1? Don't know. I will try.

Mike.

Edited by SnapperMike
  • Like 1

My dealer spent an entire afternoon configuring SO2 for my Spendors and the results were and remain amazing so much so I’ve not wanted to change anything. He paid great attention to detail and we used various records for listening sessions. My primary source for my Linn system is the LP12 and I’m lucky enough to have a hifi auditioning record that has a variety of genres including different classical periods (baroque, classic and romantic) as well as folk music from Clifford T Ward, pop music from Elton John, pub rock from Graham Parker and the spectacular “Don’t Hang Up” by 10CC that is really useful. 

• Like 1

I completed my own SOv2 configurations for my Linn system, so I did not have my Linn dealers visit and do SO for me.