First of all: I am not a computer expert (at all!). Now the questions: what would be the best way to store ripped CD's and other music files? At a separate server somewhere, but then you need a backup somehow. Or via Itunes Match? Does somebody have experience with this Apple service?
At the moment I use Linn Kazoo, Minimserver and a late 2012 Mac Mini server to store the files, but I will run out of space shortly.

Thnx in advance for your help!

Peter, 

first of all: whatever you do - under all circumstances avoid to bring apple-whatsoever software in contact with your Hi-res-files! It will destroy them and you’ll end up with mp3!!!! I am speaking from my own sad experience - a lot of frustration lies behind me.

That being said: I recommend a Server with enough storage for the next years ahead for your music and possibly your movies and TV-shows if you have those or intend to store some.

It’s relatively easy to set up - basically you install the server, add the files and plug and play them using your Linn App/Kazoo.

In my case, I use a Qnap Server on which I run Twonky Media, a software that makes the files appear in you Linn App/Kazoo. 

But that’s just one solution, plenty of which I’m sure you’re about to read here soon.

Best,

Alex

• Like 1

I also use a Qnap NAS (HS-251+) on one system. However, it requires a little knowledge to set it up and then maintain your music Library. The music server app I use is MinimServer. 

An easier option might be to buy a  Windows desktop PC and use this to store your music library which can be backed up to OneDrive or another cloud service.  You can then run Kazoo Server on the PC as your music server (it has its limitations, but it works more or less straight out of the box). Bear in mind that you want the NAS or PC to be located somewhere that you do not hear the fan.