I was at our local grocery store yesterday and noticed Led Zepellin's "Black Dog" was being piped in. I thought it rather novel. Then, things became more interesting when Genesis's "Lamb Lies Down on Broadway" started playing. I was singing along at the cash register. It all reminded me of my former local grocery in Austin, Texas where I heard piped in Slade's "Run Runaway," and, this blew me away, Yes's "And You and I."

Edited by akamatsu
  • Like 4

This reminds me of the supermarket in London Hampstead where I used to buy a baguette and mixed salad almost every evening in the autumn of 1983.
I was a trainee with a London based shipping company, had almost no money and the baguette/salad combo was pretty cheap.
Even in 1983 Hampstead was one of the most expensive parts of London I could only afford by living in the local youth hostel.

Back ON TOPIC:
They played John Peel's BBC radio show every evening in the supermarket. I had never heard John Peel before but the music he played was a true revelation :notworthy:

Edited by JensA
  • Like 3

@JensA

Very nice story. It's all on topic, just for fun.

• Like 1

Autumn of ´83 in London was full of football, music and politics...

When I returned to Hamburg in late December I came with about 100 still sealed vinyl records: All my money went for vinyl, concerts and football tickets.xD

• Like 3
12 minutes ago, JensA said:

Autumn of ´83 in London was full of football, music and politics...

When I returned to Hamburg in late December I came with about 100 still sealed vinyl records: All my money went for vinyl, concerts and football tickets.xD

Life was so much simpler when we were young. I was either working, or trying to find company with the fairer sex. :D

• Haha 1
  • 4 weeks later...

The other day, Yes's "Roundabout" was playing. I thought it rather novel, but it was a top hit in 1971. Then, they played Led Zeppelin's "Dancing Days" from Houses of the Holy.

• Upvote 1
  • 2 weeks later...