News. Spotify HIfi Is coming to challenge Tidal. Could be brutal!

The Marlin

Saw that this is coming, could have a dramtic effect on Tidal And Qobuz subscriptions. 

Linky

Direct from Spotify’s blog page.

Edited by The Marlin
Add extra link
  • Like 1

can only be good news for customers. 

• Upvote 1

3 minutes ago, fled said:

can only be good news for customers. 

As long as Spotify-enabled devices are fully supported by this improvement. Don't really want to rush out and buy a new streamer.

• Upvote 1

8 minutes ago, Nifkin said:

As long as Spotify-enabled devices are fully supported by this improvement. Don't really want to rush out and buy a new streamer.

8 minutes ago, Nifkin said:

👍

I have an Apple Music subscription (family account) and a Tidal for Hifi. 
if the Spotify hifi service is up to snuff, i could replace both with one subscription. 

• Like 1
  • Upvote 1

Won’t he long before Apple follow suit too!

Spotify HiFi will deliver music in CD-quality,

WHAT !!! No Vinyl quality :o

• Like 1
  • Upvote 2

nothing wrong with Qobuz AFAIK

Point 3 of the post on Spotify's blog post seems to suggest there may be issues with rolling out Spotify Hi Fi to pre-existing Spotify Connect enabled devices. 

1 hour ago, Nifkin said:

They should be updated for changes. My Bluesound Node 2 is updated regularly and it is not even the current model. But worth checking as some services are not available on  some streamers.

Qobuz with HR @ £15 still takes some beating. Spotify will be around the same price? Spotify has a larger library. Deezer already has HiFi and has similar library to Spotify, that's £15 pm.

I don't use connect, my ipad is too old apparently.

Edited by StingRay

1 minute ago, StingRay said:

They should be updated for changes. My Bluesound Node 2 is updated regularly and it is not even the current model. But worth checking as some services are not available on  some streamers.