Wammer
Wammer
Feb 14, 2009
Scotland
AKA
happy enough
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
So I have a system that goes along nicely ,but I suspect I need to move another step along with the cd playback but not a clue budget certainly used ,poss less than £200 if poss . I have these old stuff my Sony 35 years old I suspect

G4 big speakers I like them ,cheap Yamaha a s500 amp seems ok ,but a cheap as chips Denon dcd f101 mini system feeding a original Beresford dac I know the little Denon is rather poor but it runs silent unlikey other cd player a Alesis hard disk thing sounds quiet good but the noise its a master deck ml 9000 or 9600 it's got recorder side as well . A small hard drive I used it to make live recordings on with a cheap mixer and a very basic pair of condenser mics . Etc any way . Any input suggestions ,I will say many years ago I had Avery much enjoyed the original Rega planet top load cd player but it got moved on in a big sell up and house move ,I am a musician and also teach music bass and cello in schools ,so I like things to be not too hyped or boosted I suppose . Listen to every thing really classical jazz mostly .

Paul68

Wammer
Wammer
Jul 30, 2021
West Lothian
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
A marantz cd6006, well made and fairly new, if you want a bit of reliability.
For £200 the sound quality is good, you won't feel short changed.
I've had a marantz cd 6004 for over 10 years and it's still going strong.

Reactions: lowendall

lowendall

Wammer
Wammer
Feb 14, 2009
Scotland
AKA
happy enough
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
A marantz cd6006, well made and fairly new, if you want a bit of reliability.
For £200 the sound quality is good, you won't feel short changed.
I've had a marantz cd 6004 for over 10 years and it's still going strong.