Kondo vs AN UK DAC - oversampling?

A.S.

Wammer
Wammer
Dec 1, 2014
Hertfordshire
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Time for the Kondo Mafia to chime in please.

Can someone please clarify the following question. I am not an electronics engineer or a manufacturer of hi-fi equipment. I’m finding this rather puzzling. My understanding was that Kondo of Japan made non-oversampling DACs only Just like audio like Audio Note UK but the following articles are confusing and say opposing things:

SAMPLING CONVERSION MENTIONED HERE TO 24/96:

http://www.sibatech.co.jp/kondo/dac.html

NON-OVERSAMPLING WITHOUT DIGITAL FILTER MENTIONED AT THE END IN GERMAN (Google translate applied)

https://www.blackforestaudio.de/cms/front_content.php?idcat=45

Secondly, has anyone compared the two  sonically please?

Last edited by a moderator:

tuga

. . .
Wammer
Aug 17, 2007
Oxen's ford, UK
AKA
Ricardo
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Time for the Kondo Mafia to chime in please.

Can someone please clarify the following question. I am not an electronics engineer or a manufacturer of hi-fi equipment. I’m finding this rather puzzling. My understanding was that Kondo or Japan made non-oversampling DACs only Just like audio like Audio Note UK but the following articles are confusing and say opposing things:

OVERSAMPLING MENTIONED HERE TO 24/96:

http://www.sibatech.co.jp/kondo/dac.html

NON-OVERSAMPLING WITHOUT DIGITAL FILTER MENTIONED AT THE END IN GERMAN (Google translate applied)

https://www.blackforestaudio.de/cms/front_content.php?idcat=45

Secondly, has anyone compared the two  sonically please?
Kondo's site isn't opening but a Google search came up with this:

Discontinued Products List - Kondo Audio Note

https://www.audionote.co.jp › products › discontinued

Digital · M100-DAC · M7 IIK DAC · KSL-M7 DAC · KSL-DAC

The blackforestaudio website text is probably referring to an older KSL-DAC...

This site also indicates that oversampling is used: https://www.soundsofsilence.com/audio-note-japan-kondo/