Linn Owners

New listning room... hopefully

LinnJim

Wammer
Jan 11, 2019
Hello
With a bit of luck I should be moving house soon and I will have a dedicated listening room for the first time.
My only concern is that it is an attic conversion and thus has a vaulted ceiling.
I have no experience with attic acoustics and would love some input from anyone that knows anything.

Thanks

entdgc

Wammer
Wammer
Oct 9, 2018
Congleton, England
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
I am no sound engineer. An attic conversion would not be my first choice of listening room - but I would rather have a dedicated room than my current multi purpose lounge. There are several people on here with very expensive systems who make them work in attics. I think you will have to be careful as the floor will no doubt be wooden and suspended so susceptible to resonance - perhaps consider special feet for your speakers. If the roof is sloping then that would worry me - but I don't know why! There is some logic in saying it would actually be better as there are less parallel surfaces to enhance reflections...
I'll shut up and leave the stage to someone who actually knows what they are talking about ...

Chris 1970

Love colors in music
Wammer Plus
Aug 16, 2021
France
AKA
Christophe
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Hello!

Like @entdgc I'm definitely not a sound engineer :)

But I'm in your situation!
To have a "listening room" is a chance…

What is your system at the time?

Chris 1970

Love colors in music
Wammer Plus
Aug 16, 2021
France
AKA
Christophe
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Like said previously:
– the floor could be suspended wood, so susceptible to resonance
– the roof is sloping, so what about reflections…

I have the speakers under one roof slope.
@Paulssurround said that speakers in the other way could be easier to manage, with a wall behind I suppose (a nice listening experience with one of his friends system).
I can talk only about my experience…

1) The floor: