Newbie Needs Help On AV v Stereo, Multi-Room and How Much To Spend

G

I'm new to HiFi and AV.  I hope you experts can help me to decide what kit to buy.  Frankly I'm bewildered by all the different options and hope that you can give me some simple, straightforward advice. 

The kit I already have:

TEAC CR-H100 CD/Tuner/Amp

TEAC MD-H100 MiniDisc player

Sky Plus Satellite Box

JVC DR-M10SEK DVD Recorder

iMac & three iPods (one for each of the family)

I'm just about to go and buy a Panasonic 42" HDTV plasma .

What I want to be able to do:

1. Enjoy movies to their full potential in my lounge.

2. Listen to my favourite classical and jazz CD's in one of three places: lounge, kitchen-diner and patio.

3. Play my iTunes library in the same three locations.

4. Allow anyone to drop their iPod in a dock in the three locations for charging and listening.

5. Listen to digital and FM radio in each of the three places.

6. Ideally I would like to allow the occupant of any room to be able to choose to listen to/watch and control any of the sources whist people in other rooms do something else e.g. wife listens to her iPod in the kitchen, kid watches some TV/DVD in the lounge and I get a really high quality rendition of my favourite recordings somewhere else.

I have some questions:

1. If you have a surround sound system for your TV, will music sound any good on it or should you have a separate stereo system for music? 

2. Is there any real benefit to having a surround sound system?  Does it really sound that much better?