Wammer
May 17, 2013
Paisley
AKA
Allan
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Hi again

I'm a true novice when it comes to hifi stuff - i know a little, but when i say 'a little', i truly mean the very basics. As far as i know a DAC converts digital signals into analog signasl which can be heard. I am guessing with a high quality dac this conversion process is done more efficiently and to a high standard - reproducing sound as producer intended? On other posts people have recommended an Arcam rDAC and i've stumbled over a possible good deal on a second hand one. here are my questions:

1. if Ihave seperate dac do I attach all sources to it and therefore bipass any internal dacs that equipment might have (for example, cd player, pc sound card etc)
  2. Do speakers get attached to a dac or are these still connected to amp

Sorry if these questions sound basic, but everyone needs to start somewhere.

mongeddavid

Wammer
Wammer
Sep 22, 2009
Herts, ,
AKA
David
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Hi there The DAC will sit between your digital source ( PC or CD Player/Transport , Sky Box Games Console ) anything with a digital output really and your amplifier. What you can have connected up at any one time will depend on the DAC and the type of connections it has. Most Common are Optical (toslink) and RCA Coaxial. USB connections for a PC are often found these days too. There are other connections but these are what most budget DACs will carry.