Wammer
Wammer
Oct 23, 2019
Wigan
AKA
Phil
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Out of interest, has anyone ever heard their speakers?

I like horn speaker exotica and I'm hopefully about to be in a position where I can set up a small workshop again and I fancy a project. Although it's not my main work nowadays, I'm a cabinet maker by trade. 

I know the hardware (drivers) is probably prohibitively expensive but I like a challenge. 

Any info or advice from anyone else who has experience making horn speakers would be appreciated! 

Ta

Ps,  I've not heard them but I quite like their timber design horns. Is it style over substance? 

Last edited by a moderator:

uzzy

Grumpy Old Git
Wammer
Apr 16, 2006
NN38TA Northampton
AKA
David
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
if you fancy a horn project you might like to have a gander here https://www.pinterest.co.uk/eeboon2622/speakers-horn-profile/?autologin=true  and here .. 

It is an intersting "art" as there are different profiles .. then the crossover design you need to remove the "honk" that invariably comes out of a horn lol ..

I love the horn loaded tweeters in my Art Impressions but I know that it took Art some time to determine the best horn profile to use (much trial and tribulation) 

BettisDad

Wammer
Wammer
Oct 23, 2019
Wigan
AKA
Phil
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
if you fancy a horn project you might like to have a gander here https://www.pinterest.co.uk/eeboon2622/speakers-horn-profile/?autologin=true  and here .. 

It is an intersting "art" as there are different profiles .. then the crossover design you need to remove the "honk" that invariably comes out of a horn lol ..

I love the horn loaded tweeters in my Art Impressions but I know that it took Art some time to determine the best horn profile to use (much trial and tribulation) 
That's the thing, I think they're worth the hassle as a really good horn design can sound amazing. 

It looks like I've got my work cut out for me! 

robbie010

Fervent Box-swapper & Tinkerer
Wammer Plus
Feb 24, 2016