Wammer Plus
Jul 23, 2019
Village near Nottingham.
AKA
Dom
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Hello everyone
I am tentatively considering Roon only from a discovering music perspective. I like the joined up meta data approach. It seems impressive. Anyone like to comment on the reality?

tkimages

Wammer
Wammer
Jun 14, 2006
St Helens
AKA
Tillman
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
I’ve been using Roon for many years now and that short video you posted sums it up nicely. I didn’t join Roon to discover new music, my main reasons were to access MQA material (Tidal) and to ‘manage’ my ripped CDs for use in my then recently acquired Meridian system. I have discovered many albums and artists that I like, often accidentally, but I’m sure that I don’t use the ‘discover’ facilities as they should be used or as often as I should. However, my music library has increased by a considerable amount and I haven’t bought any new music in the time I’ve been subscribed to Roon + Tidal.

Reactions: antonio66 and DomT

hearhere

Wammer
Wammer
Apr 9, 2013
Portsmouth, UK
AKA
Peter
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Surprisingly that video didn't mention the feature I found while on my month trial with Roon. Their "radio" feature whereby , when your queue of music ends, Roon will add tracks that it thinks you may enjoy.

These Roon features are great, although much of what Roon offers is available to BluOS users, although perhaps not so comprehensively. The info icon often lists similar artists and may open a link to their Wikipedia or AllMusic page. Though not as good as Roon, I decided it was good enough not to subscribe and get the hardware needed for Roon long term.

Reactions: DomT

DomT

Food and coffee and rock n roll
Wammer Plus
Jul 23, 2019
Village near Nottingham.
AKA
Dom
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Surprisingly that video didn't mention the feature I found while on my month trial with Roon. Their "radio" feature whereby , when your queue of music ends, Roon will add tracks that it thinks you may enjoy.