Wammer
Mar 9, 2010
Cambridge
AKA
Iestos de la Mancha
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Hi guys
I have been using the same speaker cable for the last 20+ years - Namlely (Naimly?) Naim NAC05.
My 1m long runs are fitted with gold plated spades soldered on both ends. My question is this -
Has anyone had this cable and found better ? If so, what are you using ? I know for a fact cables do make a difference, but all my efforts have so far been devoted to line level - not speaker cable.
I do not intend to spend buckets of money and I'd prefer to terminate them myself - but has anyone spent sensible money and heard a difference - especially over such a short run ? (my power amps are next to the speakers).
The system is pretty revealing and the room has had a fair bit of attention paid to acoustics - with no compromise in speaker positioning etc.
Just wondering if the longest surviving component could be bettered !
Cheers - rr

rocky raccoon

Wammer
Wammer
Mar 9, 2010
Cambridge
AKA
Iestos de la Mancha
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
At that length I doubt any changes will make any difference , enjoy your music .
Haha - Cheers Bencat. So far, everythng else I have done, from speakers to sources, has been perfectly obvious with the ol' Nac 5 so no need to replace or faff. There was a plan afoot to muck about with some silver wire. Silver co-ax interconnect upstream with WBT phonos is now standard in the household. For speakers, the old gaffer has quite a bit of silver strand kicking around. I might have a go if there's enough to do two 1m runs with 4 mm cross section. I was just wondering about commercial alternatives as I suspect geometry/dialectric is perhaps more important than the conductor itself in a high-current situation with so much going on between Amp and Speaker.........

tuga

. . .
Wammer
Aug 17, 2007
Oxen's ford, UK
AKA
Ricardo
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
The cable ‘dance’ is a tail-chasing exercise that will only serve to waste money and lose precious music listening enjoyment time.