Wisdom of buying hard to find high end equipment?

PhotoMax

Wammer
Wammer
Oct 31, 2019
Seattle
AKA
Maxwell
HiFi Trade?
  1. Yes
I own a mix of Linn and Rega equipment. I am located in Seattle (USA).

Most of the better audio forums are located in the U.K. I just find the reviews and member posts to be more thorough and better written. I am new to Hifiwigwam and am really enjoying it.

The flip side to this is that much of the new equipment I read about is difficult to find here in the US. For example I would love to find a dealership that has Kudos speakers. No one seems to carry them. Other quality UK brands have a few scattered dealers across the country, but not in my area. 

Even if I took the risk of buying equipment without a listening audition I would be nervous about the support issues, expense and time without my gear if a component needed service?

I am not sure if I even have a real question here? I was just wondering if others had taken the risk of buying attractive equipment even though there were purchasing, location and service issues?

Thanks!

Max 

Nopiano

Wammer Plus
Wammer Plus
Jul 19, 2016
Monmouthshire, Wales
AKA
Nick
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Hi Max, in the late 1990s I bought a Krell CD player and amplifier from the UK importers. The exchange rate wasn’t great and it was a costly decision - but only in £s.  I used both until a couple of years ago, and the player only needed a service once.  

I sold them for about 25% of their original price last year, which I thought was pretty fair.  Costed over twenty years they were a bargain!  Their longevity made me much more aware of warranty and support issues, however.  That’s why, amongst other reasons, I like ATC speakers with their 6-year warranty and UK manufacturing base. 

You've a wonderful array of great US products made at home, which in your shoes I’d be more focussed on than Linn or Rega. 

PhotoMax

Wammer
Wammer
Oct 31, 2019
Seattle
AKA
Maxwell
HiFi Trade?
  1. Yes
Thanks!