tackleberry

Wammer
Wammer
Jan 28, 2010
Leeds..ish
HiFi Trade?
  1. Yes
  2. No
Can anyone suggest a reasonable laptop for speaker software? I have no experience in this area. My wife has a thinkpad for work, would one of these be any good?

Tony_J

Gone fishin'
Staff member
Mar 4, 2013
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Can anyone suggest a reasonable laptop for speaker software? I have no experience in this area. My wife has a thinkpad for work, would one of these be any good?
Should be fine - I've used Basta! and Hornresp on various machines - they don't need anything special.

audio_PHIL_e

audioPHILe
Wammer
Jul 21, 2020
The wrong planet
soundcloud.com
AKA
Phil
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
I use a thinkpad for work, it has loads of memory and a number of cpu cores. A fair bit of my work involves running Linux in Virtual Machines which I'm sure is hungry for a bit of compute power, and Windoze manages it reasonably well. Are you worried about how long it would take to do lots of floating-point calculations?

tackleberry

Wammer
Wammer
Jan 28, 2010
Leeds..ish
HiFi Trade?
  1. Yes
  2. No
To be honest I’ve no idea where to start yet. I want to create my own speaker designs.

I have very limited knowledge of computers, but been looking at Tutorials on YouTube for various types of software to get me into it.. I imagine a lot more questions once I get it!!

Reactions: Tony_J

HoopsOnToast

Legend Wammer
Wammer
Feb 6, 2006
Oxfordshire
AKA
Rob
HiFi Trade?
  1. Yes
  2. No
I think Hornresp, Boxsim, WinISD etc will all work on pretty much anything these days. I use Unibox excel spreadsheet for speaker cabinet designs which being excel based again, will run on anything too.

A larger screen does help, say when doing measurements but I find a good balance of portablity and size helps if you are moving around, say from the garage/workshop to Living room etc when doing measurements, CAD, modelling etc.