Best Cheap hifi rack for less than £50?

sheldon5

Wammer
New Wammer
Apr 5, 2007
Durham, , United Kin
Does anyone know of the best hi-fi rack to be had for less than £50? I've looked at Target racks on eBay but they have wooden shelves - has anyone found a sonic difference between a rack with wood or glass shelving? I dont really want to have to spend hundreds.. thought about making a Flexy which TNT Audio have as a DIY project but frankly dont have the time! Does anyone have the Target shelves or could think of a better alternative?

Thanks

Sheldon

auralflea

Wammer
Wammer
Jun 12, 2006
Black Country
AKA
Kevin
Bricks/ Breezeblocks and plywood 'lifted' off a building site will fit into that price category! The £50 could go on sandpaper, varnish and fixings.....

biggrin.png

sheldon5

Wammer
New Wammer
Apr 5, 2007
Durham, , United Kin
lol very funny.. I am only a student and having spent a lot of money on the rest of the system I'm looking for something reasonable but not expensive - so hence why I'm looking for a used stand!

Injector

Wammer
Wammer
Jul 23, 2005
In a shed
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
I've got nice black metal stand, plenty of shelves too. I'd let it go for fifty quid but I'm in Bristol.
sad.png

A

Alex A

Buy 3-4 Ikea Lack Coffee tables. Cut the legs to the height you want the shelves and stick them together. Spike the bottom too. DIY job for less than £50 all in, and supposedly excellent as hifi racks.

JamPal

Content Provider
Wammer
Jul 19, 2005
Sussex, West Side
AKA
James
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Ikea - particle board seems to be very good at soaking up the vibrations, worked wonders for my old Rega turntable

sheldon5

Wammer
New Wammer
Apr 5, 2007
Durham, , United Kin
Hmm the Ikea rack sounds like an interesting idea. I've heard that glass shelving results in much better results though? Just a standard number of components really - TT, cd player, amp, tuner - all currently on awful shelving so really need to obtain a better solution soon.