Subwoofer - Replacement Drivers

JazzyG

Wammer
Oct 10, 2018
United States
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
Just curious, are subwoofer drivers as picky as say tweeters and mid-ranges as far as replacing the drivers for upgrading purposes?

I just picked up a Mirage BPS-150 at a great price, everything works and they sound good with my RCA mini-monitor project I just completed.  However, I was just curious if there was a simple way to upgrade the drivers?  Since the plate amp on the back allows one to tweak levels, crossover points, phase, etc., wouldn't that make substituting a newer driver simpler than say a tweeter or midrange?

What are other popular tweaks you guys are doing to older subs like this?  Bracing, stuffing, damping, rewiring?

Regards,

JazzyG

20200915_225536.jpg

20200915_225525.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

MartinC

Wammer
Wammer
Jul 29, 2005
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
I'm not an expert but there are certainly minimum specs needed for the driver in that it needs to be able to handle the maximum current and voltage the amp will deliver without burning out or exceeding its intended range of motion respectively.

My gut reaction to your post is I'd use the sub as is or buy/make something better rather than sinking money into trying to upgrade what you have. 

Fatmarley

Wammer
Wammer
Dec 12, 2008
Gloucestershire
AKA
Matt
HiFi Trade?
  1. No
The usual way of building a subwoofer is to select a driver, and then model the correct enclosure size and tuning frequency (assuming ported) for that particular driver. This is very specific for each driver, so the chances of finding one that will work in that enclosure, with those ports is very slim.

Sealed speakers are far more forgiving of enclosure size than ported. If you could work out the internal volume, and also give baffle dimensions to work out the largest size driver that would fit the enclosure, I will have a look through all my modelled subwoofers for you to see if any would work.